Multilanguage support

Multilanguage support

por Andreas Dedner -
Número de respuestas: 6

Hi.

I'm new to CodeRunner and found it really easy to get started. Thanks for the great work. This should help a lot with giving student more confidence in their programming skills (and reducing my work load at the same time I'm hopping...)

I have the following issue and I'm hoping to get some idea on how to tackle it:

I've allowed students to submit their answers in Matlab/Octave or Python3. I've started off by writing codeRunner questions for both languages and for the simple cases I've been looking at so far that is not an issue. But now I'm wondering how to best put questions together into a moodle quiz and was hoping someone might have some good ideas.

1. I could try to extend the 'multilanguage' question type to include octave. Probably easy to do but I don't know where to find the information on how to run octave student code. The advantage would of course be that I would have no duplication of the question so that maintenance would be much easier.

2. Make two quizzes, one for Matlab users and one for Python users. That is perhaps the easiest to get started with but has the additional maintenance issue. Also I can't really stop students submitting answers to both quizzes (some might just do that for fun) and then I would have to check the result database to remove double submissions because I can't give them double marks.

3. Somehow get moodle to branch so that depending on some tick box only one or the other language question appears. But I have no idea how to do that....

Is there some other approach I'm missing? I wouldn't mind doing (1) but would appreciate some pointer on how to add octave support to the multilanguage question type?

En respuesta a Andreas Dedner

Re: Multilanguage support

por Andreas Dedner -