Using the regular expression grader

Using the regular expression grader

by Richard Lobb -
Number of replies: 1

A teacher asked me the following question:

I had this silly question in a tutorial for absolute beginners to get a feeling of the Pascal syntax:

Write a program to print a "visiting card" similar to this:

------------------------------
  25/D, Gamanarambha Veediya
  Kosmadalawa 12450
------------------------------
    • The output has four lines
    • Lines 1 and 4: any number of hyphens
    • Lines 2 and 3: any text, can't be empty
So the "answer" could be,

program printVisitingCard;
  begin
  WriteLn('-----------------------');
  WriteLn(' Gemunu Jayawarsiri');
  WriteLn('  24B, Talawatugoda Road');   
  WriteLn('-----------------------');
end.
So the output can not be taken literally, only the pattern should match. What is the way of doing this?

My response

It's not a silly question at all. Teachers learning to use CodeRunner often stumble over this sort of thing, as they're used to asking questions in which the output requirements are rather vaguely specified.

You can't use the default 'exact match' grader on questions of this sort. You must either use a regular expression grader or write your own custom grader that intercepts the output and prints helpful messages like "I expected 4 lines but got only 3". Custom graders are a lot more work and are not usually worth the effort except when you are creating a new question type that you wish to use repeatedly.

To specify the expected answer with a regular expression you must click the Customise checkbox and then select Regular Expression from the Grading dropdown. The enter the regular expression you want into the test case's Expected field. The in-line help explains a bit about the required syntax.

In the example above, a possible regular expression is:

\A-+\n.+\n.+\n-+\Z