SQL CodeRunner Newbie

SQL CodeRunner Newbie

by Sara Cohen -
Number of replies: 11

I am a long time database professor, and I typically use Postgresql for my students SQL practice. I am VERY much interested in including CodeRunner questions on SQL in my Moodle course, now that we are all online. Unfortunately, I can't seem to make heads or tails of the form in which I define an SQL question. I have absolutely no idea what does where, or what the meaning is of most fields in the form. I searched for a video (or a page with screenshots) which would take me step by step through defining a "Hello World" SQL question, but could not find one. 

Can someone possibly walk me through the template and the process of defining a simple question of this type? Or point me in the direction of explanations? (I saw https://coderunner.org.nz/mod/quiz/view.php?id=194I but dont know how to define such questions myself). I would be very very grateful!

Sara

In reply to Sara Cohen

Re: SQL CodeRunner Newbie

by Richard Lobb -

Hi Sara

CodeRunner provides a general framework for setting computer-graded questions. The simple supplied sql question type is just a sample to get people going, so it is indeed important to understand that as a first step.

I'll assume you've read the general documentation on how CodeRunner works (starting with The Architecture of CodeRunner) and focus just on the supplied sql question type.

Firstly, I suggest you import the two exported questions in the quiz you refer to into your question bank using the standard Moodle question import functionality (they're both Moodle XML files). Then, if you open them for editing, you'll be able to see how those particular questions are set up.

If you open the Question type details section, you'll see the following:

CodeRunner question type: sql

A SQL question type, using sqlite3, run from Python3. sqlite3 must be installed on the Jobe server for this question type.