cpp_class tests and customized test cases

cpp_class tests and customized test cases

by Alex Gunagwera -
Number of replies: 2

Hello, I am relatively new to this amazing tool. So far the inbuilt cpp_function and cpp_program have been sufficient. However, I need something slightly different. At the moment I wish to know two things:

1. Defining the expect output as a range instead of an exact value. Lets say the program output is 87, I want to define the expected output in the test cases as anything between [84-90] and accept all values within this range i.e. accept if the program output is one of 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89 or 90. How can I achieve that? 
  2. Instead of setting up individual function tests, what If i want to test all methods in cpp_program that may include more than two functions. How most efficiently can I achieve this? Do I have to bite the bullet and set up tests for each function as a separate question or is there an easier way? Language in context is cpp. 

Thank you very much.

In reply to Alex Gunagwera

Re: cpp_class tests and customized test cases

by Richard Lobb -
1. Accepting variations in output

If you are using a cpp_function question type, then you can easily check for output variations with test code like

int result = student_function(...);
if (result >= 84 && result <= 90) {
    cout << "Correct!\n";
} else {
    cout << "Answer should be in the range 84 to 90 incl.\n";
}

where the expected output from the test is "Correct!".

However, with a cpp_program question, it's harder. One way is to click the Customise box and select Regular Expression instead of Exact match for the grading. Then you could set the Expected output to be, say,

\A\s*(84|85|86|87|88|89|90)\s*\Z