How to use Input UIs -> Ace_mini_ide

How to use Input UIs -> Ace_mini_ide

by Christian Milani -
Number of replies: 4

Hello,

I am a Moodle admin in my university and a teacher asked me to allow students to run the code before submitting it.

He asked me to enable under "Customisation" this option:

Every time i try to use it the ajax will return an error and this alert is shown on the page

this is what is returned from the ajax:

[{"error":true,"exception":{"message":"Invalid parameter value detected","errorcode":"invalidparameter","link":"https:\/\/MOODLEURL\/question\/question.php?returnurl=%2Fquestion%2Fedit.php%3Fcourseid%3D195&courseid=195&id=718","moreinfourl":"https:\/\/docs.moodle.org\/311\/en\/error\/debug\/invalidparameter"}}]

Unfortunately in the documentation I didn't find anything on this  "Ace_mini_ide"

What's the difference between using this option and using "Submit Buttons" -> "Precheck"? He didn't want to allow the students to see all the errors printed by the precheck.

Have a nice day

christain

In reply to Christian Milani

Re: How to use Input UIs -> Ace_mini_ide

by Richard Lobb -
Sorry Christian, the Ace_mini_ide UI was the start of an experiment some time, which I abandoned. It was never meant to escape into the wild. It's nowhere near workable.

However, we have since then developed a working version called scratchpad_UI that lets the student run any code they like (usually their answer, with test code appended). It looks like this (once the Scratchpad section has been opened and used):

The Run button submits to the Jobe sandbox server more-or-less directly, using CodeRunner's web service. Student runs of this sort are not recorded - they're not "submissions" in the ordinary sense. They are logged in the activities log but without any detailed information.