New and Getting Unexpected Indentation Error

New and Getting Unexpected Indentation Error

by Brad Strassburger -
Number of replies: 8

My apologies as I am brand new to this, but it seems so amazing I really want to use this with my students. I am working through the learning process but have run into a weird situation. All I want to do is have students write the following code

varX = 5

varY = 10

if varX > varY:

print ("Hello")

elif varX < varY:

print ("Goodbye")

else:

print ("Equal")

However it keeps saying that there is an indentation error

"Sorry: IndentationError: expected an indented block after 'if' statement on line 23 (__tester__.python3, line 24)"

but there simply isn't. I am really not sure what I am doing wrong and would really appreciate some help

In reply to Brad Strassburger

Re: New and Getting Unexpected Indentation Error

by Richard Lobb -
What question type are you using, and has the question been customised? I don't think either the standard python3 or python3_w_input question types could give rise to that error unless the template has been customised: the word Sorry doesn't exist in the CodeRunner codebase, at least not in that sort of context. 

The program that's actually run is defined by the question template. The fact that you're getting an error on line 23 when there aren't that many lines in the student answer suggests that there's an error in the template. To see what's going on, click the Template debugging checkbox, turn off Validate on save, save the question and preview it Then you'll get shown exactly what code is being run. Hopefully the cause will then become clear. If not, please export export the question as an xml file and post back with the exported question attached.
In reply to Richard Lobb

by Brad Strassburger -
Thanks for getting back to me.