Testing for 4 possible outputs?

Testing for 4 possible outputs?

by Estelle Ashman -
Number of replies: 2
Hi 

Sorry if this has been asked before!

I’m new to CodeRunner and am finding it a brilliant tool in the classroom!

I am planning to teach my students about lists and random number generators by them creating a Hogwarts House random generator using Python and was hoping to use codeRunner for testing it but can’t work out how I would test for four possible outputs (if written correctly the students code will randomly choose between the 4 houses and output one of them).

I’ve experimented with writing my own template but couldn’t work out how to extract the students output, only their full code which isn’t the route I’d ideally want to take. Perhaps a regex solution might be possible?

If anyone can help I’d really appreciate it!

In reply to Estelle Ashman

Re: Testing for 4 possible outputs?

by Richard Lobb -

Hi Estelle

Good to know you're finding CodeRunner useful.

An interesting question - I've never tried to grade a question in which randomness is specified!

Where possible I get students to write functions rather than whole program. That way I can tell them exactly what data is available (i.e., the parameters) and what to print or (in this case) return. Then testing is straightforward and you avoid the hassles of input prompts. In this case, for example the test code could call their function 1000 times and check how often each of the 4 houses appeared. [As an aside, I know that functions are generally not taught till some way into a course but I find that if you give students the function header and possibly the required return statement at the end, they're happy enough to write the body, even if they don't really understand functions.]

However, I can appreciate that you want students to write the whole program and you might not want to introduce functions into the game. So ...